Race Cam Zooms in for Win

Cam Clayton, winner of the 2015 Moran Stable H’cap.
Cam Clayton, winner of the 2015 Moran Stable H’cap.

Cameron Clayton, like last week’s winner David Page, fresh from a VAL track season, recorded his first Victorian Cross Country League victory with a narrow win in the Moran Stable 5km sealed handicap at Karkarook Park on Sunday. Cam, with several track wins, including a Stawell 400 metres final, was having his sixteenth club start on Sunday and led all the way, recording the fastest time of 16:30 in the sealed handicap.

Clayton had nineteen seconds to spare over Alan McCullen with Hugo Sarpa a mere second away in third place. Julian Harris continued his improved form with his fourth place, edging out Andrew Lane. Ian Cayzer and Anthony Whitby fought out a close battle in sixth and seventh placing with Cayzer just finding the line in front. Next in were Joel Donnar and the first of the females, Jay Wright. Tiger Grant, tenth, was denied his moment on the presentation podium due to a miss calculation in the original results. If given his opportunity again he would have thanked the VCCL, Hippo Stable, Moran Stable, the Social Club, Parks Victoria, the Night Rider bus company and various night clubs for his placing.

The fastest times were recorded by Cam Clayton, eight seconds to the good of Jacob Nolan’s run of 16:38, the fastest of the ladies was Corina Kapusta, 19:03. The novice award went to Gary Hall, in eleventh place.

Many thanks to Tony Moran and his running stable for their sponsorship of Sunday’s race. This Sunday the VCCL head to Warringal Park for the 26th annual Family 8km Handicap. As was the case last winter the prize money for this race has increased due to the added generous sponsorship of Contract Fire P/L and Matthew Taylor. The race is the first of the “staggered start” events for this season and starts at 10am.

Recent News