Yarra No Match For Surging Brooks

Leon Brooks, winner of the 2017 AB Phillips Handicap.
Leon Brooks, winner of the 2017 AB Phillips Handicap.

Leon Brooks improved on his close second at Westgate Park the previous week to hold out David Stones at Yarra Bend on Saturday morning. The 8km event conducted on both track and grass was made tougher by overnight rain. Over the concluding 2km David Stones took the lead but was continually challenged by Brooks, with Leon proving a little too strong in the run to the line. Saturday’s win was Leon’s third with the VCCL as he nears his 100th club run. Stone’s effort to run second shows that another win for David isn’t too far in the future. Third across the line was the consistent Daniel Lawlor, and although forty nine seconds from the winner is nearing a win. Sean Quilty was next in, just edging out Camilla Whishaw. The fastest time award went to Mitchell Cashion with a solid run of 26:26 on the wet and grassy track. Camilla Whishaw’s 31:44 was the fastest of the ladies and Damien Cassar was the first unplaced novice.

This Saturday the Victorian Cross Country League races at Lysterfield Park for the AB Phillips 6.5km. The start point is at the main gate area with a mass start at 9am.

Recent News